What’s Inside of You?


I looked up and straight into the mirror, but I didn’t see me as I know myself to look, I saw Frida Kahlo.
I was a born painter.
Then I awoke, half forgetting about what I’d seen that night in my dream.
Having seen the film based on the life of Kahlo years ago, and only remembering that she was a fiery character, I decided to dig into her a little.
I nearly fell out of my chair laughing so hard when I read the following, which seemed to resonate quite well:
“I paint myself because I am so often alone, and because  I am the subject I know best….I was a born bitch. I was a born painter.”
And from this quote, my mind took me back to a Tarantino quote I’d recently come across;
“When people ask me if I went to film school, I tell them, ‘No, I went to films.’”
Now – closer to home – and around the topic of “jobs.”
In the past month, I’ve spent a great deal of time with two of my dearest friends, both mothers, both of whom I’ve known for most of the five years I’ve been in Slovakia.
I’ve observed them very intently with their little ones, and can tell you that they are each wonderful & beautiful mothers, (and believe you me, they didn’t spend five years in school, studying how to be such a mother– the most challenging & rewarding “job,” in equal measure-).
Their whole lives prepared them for this role, and being true to themselves, they do it innately, with so much love and care—blessed are they & their daughters.
Now – there is a theme here – between Frida, Quentin, and my dear friends, and over and over again, this theme paints itself in and around me.
(Especially to – but not exclusive to- young(er) people):
What you are is inside of you already. It always was and it always will be. Your “job” is to realize it and paint your life too.
Let go and let yourself be.
Love & Peace.
Leave a Reply

