DIY Body Care- Shampoo

Ready for it? 

Your very first homemade shampoo, and all you need are two ingredients. 

1 cup water
1 tbsp baking soda 

Use an old shampoo bottle if you fancy (anything squeezy which has a twist off lid). Add the ingredients, give it a shake and wash. 

That’s all there is to it, really, soon you’ll be experimenting away as well. 🙂 

With shampoo picture to the right, I actually boiled the water first, so that when I added the lavender, it would assimilate better. Whilst doing so, I added a pinch of clove powder, and then a few drops of honey, (when the mixture was still warm, but not cold), and with everything I make from food to clothes to body care, a heartful of love. 

The result?

Awesomeness. 🙂 

For a long time already, I’d only been washing my hair about once a week, with normal shampoo, so the switch was incredibly easy, and there wasn’t much change, except that my hair does seem to try faster (whilst still under a towel). It feels like it does after I go swimming in the sea, which is a good feeling all in all. 

At first I didn’t use my normal ‘conditioner,’ which good old coconut oil, and found that my hair, which is now past my waist, was quite dry. The oil brought back life, shine and shape to my curls.:) After washing, I comb out my hair and add a few drops of coconut oil to the ends. 

I had did have an issue with dandruff before going shampoo free, which I was hoping would resolve itself in the process, though it didn’t. I believe I’ve fixed that with an egg mask that I used on my scalp last week. 

Quite simply, I just put a whole egg on my scalp and left if for a few hours. Seemed to have done the trick. 

Yesterday before washing, I rubbed coconut oil directly onto my scalp (instead of the egg- the smell was a bit much for me). I’ll carry on doing it for another few washes, to stimulate the natural oils again. Let’s see. 

Yurai, my husband, is game for au natural – which I’m so happy about. Never have I had to convince him of any of these ideas. (As he still uses product for his ever growing hair, I’m going to try a natural gel, made of flax seeds for him). 



The curls & ends of my hair 
From top to bottom


Top view 



—-

I’d already gone natural with toothepaste over a year ago, which Yurai took to very easily when we first got together. 

Another very simple concoction with the two main ingredients already mentioned above, in differing quantities. 

It’s simply equal parts of coconut oil, and baking soda. 

I’ll be the first to tell you that it’s no ‘Colgate,’ in terms of taste, though that can be easily remedied. 
A drop or two of essential oils does the trick. I was using cinnamon in the past (essential oil), and this time I added cinnamon powder itself. Does the trick. 
My teeth aren’t falling out, AND my gums are no longer bleeding. 

Baking soda, coconut oil and even vinegar, seem to have become staples of so much of what I make. Incorporated into everything from food to cleansing agents. 
With coconut oil, I also do ‘pulling,’ which is essentially a spoon of coconut oil in your mouth being swished around for up to 20 minutes. There are numerous benefits to pull oil in your mouth, like detoxing your body, oral hygiene, whiter teeth, etc. Here’s a wonderful article on the subject, by the good folks over at Foodmatters.com.  For me, pulling was a starter to going natural. 

Back to cleansing agents, it’s only just now, in pondering this post that I’ve realized I’ve not even bought cleaning detergents whilst living in this apartment, since February, aside from dishwash soap and laundry detergent. Not to say that I don’t clean, only that I use what I already have- either dishwash/the last drops of laundry soap. It’s so much easier to clean the floors too, which I do with a rag, as there’s not stickiness afterwards from detergent. 

These days, I’m using vinegar & water more and more, (along with baking soda for the oven, and leftover lemons when I have them). 

 
Though it’s not the main reason, not having much money (which I’ll blog about when I’m inspired to), has helped me to get more in touch with myself and with that comes a much more simpler and natural way of life. Truly a blessing in disguise. 


What I don’t have right now, I must not need, as everything is always provided the moment when I need it. 

Such is the mantra of the universe, “Everything always works out.”

I think that money post will come sooner than later. 😉 

Drop me a line if you have questions regarding the shampoo, and play around with nature. Put honey on your face, or banana, leave it on for a few minutes, see what happens. 🙂

Much love to you guys. 







Leave a Reply

