Upcylcing an Old Favorite 

img_5401

 

If you know me at all, you  know I am a creative creature.

Among other creative stuff, for as long as I can remember, I’ve been sewing and designing.

In recent weeks, whilst on a slight detour from the new program I’m creating called 5ive Elements, based on getting aligned, I was “forced” to have fun. (If ever there could be a thing)!

Truth of the matter is, I was in a beautiful creative flow with high momentum, until I wasn’t. The “slight detour,” wasn’t one I initially wanted to take, in fact my resistance was high, but seeing I was the best fit to go down that path, I allowed myself to do the thing I didn’t really want to, very consciously, which meant zero resistance after all.

In doing so, not that I “lost” momentum or flow for 5ive Elements, I decided not to stress that I couldn’t dedicate my focus there, and put it elsewhere- into fun. 🙂

I made a deal with myself that that I’d made the conscious choice that I did, I needed to enjoy myself with the rest of my time.

So, I played and I played and I played. 🙂

I created, I listened to music, even sat at the tabla and dropped a few beats. I played like a child, filling my heart with joy, knowing that as long as I do that (the epitome of self-love), then everything – 5ive Elements – will take shape and form, as it should in the perfect time.

That said, I share with you my first creation. This was one of my most favorite tops ever. Super comfy, soft stretchy cotton, just the right length, and fit- not too tight, nor loose-. Buuuut, there was a hole in one armpit, and as you can see from the first pic, both pits were pretty worn out.

diy grey 1of5.jpg

It was really ready for the garbage, I’d even set it aside, and then the day I decided to play, I eyed it and jumped into action.

I like one of the new trends out right now, of long sleeves with shoulder cut-outs, and well, I love the way my shoulders look, so out came the scissors, and off came the shoulders.

diygrey2of5.jpg

 

With the scissors in hand, I decided to open up the neckline, cutting away the ribbing, which I thought I might use to tie up the bit left of the should seam….

diygrey3of5.jpg

There was that lovely green velour (the same one I’d worn as an eye patch when I was having fun healing my eye (not the same one in video though)),  and I opted for read thread.

diy4of5.jpg

Ok- a few steps got skipped in between (picture-wise), but I was on such a roll that I just forgot to. In any case, this was what I ended up with. 🙂

diy5of5.jpgMe in my ‘brand new’ top – C’est tout 😉

As always, play :**

Big Love from This Little Cookie ❤

Leave a Reply

