DIY Fashion 

A few weeks ago, cupid’s arrow struck me, and in a few hours, I had this top.
Does that make sense?

I used to think of being struck by cupid’s arrow to mean that someone or I has fallen in love.
I did. I have. I do – over and over again.

Creating this top, was for no rhyme or reason, just that I was drawn to it. I tapped into my imagination, played, had a great deal of fun in doing so, and done. Now that the process is over, I could really care less about it all- it was all about the good feeling journey of it, which led me to other things, which as soon as I hit the “publish” button, in a few moments, I’m off to create something I’ve had my mind on.

You see, what’s so cool about this, is that I’ve come to realize that the things that I do, be it (re)creating an item of clothing, or delightful pleasures for all kinds of taste buds, or even working with others- it’s all one in the same for me.

I reach for the most fun stuff that’s within my range to make this top.
Already tasting in my mind, what I’m to conjure up, it usually ends up as such.
When working with others, my heart and mind make connections that are just the right thing for that person, listening, tweaking, feeling just the right thing to say, or not to say, to do, or not to do.

And, if I may say, all of the above is no different from the beautiful feeling of bliss when in (the state of) love with my partner, and hence making love is pure ecstatic creation, elation, profound richness…It’s all the same to me- it’s all love. 

..I digress- back to the heart top, shall we?

This cute little number, came about very organically, as in, I saw the fabric, held it up to myself, got a semblance of what I was going to do and it all just came about. Even with my fashion design background, I didn’t use measuring tapes and such.

Step 1- I found a piece of fabric, folded it in half to see if the length would work for me – it did – and if the width too, was ok- it was.
What you see above is the entire piece I used to make the top.
There were only two seams that held the whole thing together, along the sides.


Step 2- I’ve only just refold the top along the shoulder/neck line.
I cut a slit along that top fold, so my hit could fit through and did no shaping to it.


Step 3- I pulled my notions along as I was making the top, like adding herbs and spices to my food creations and this is all that I ended up with.
(Indeed I am my mothers daughter, she being the inspirateur behind my designing. She’s fully stocked with machines, fabrics, notions, you name it, mum’s got it. 😉 )

 


Step 4- the finishing of one sleeve was this lovely black lace which I sewed atop of white elastic (non- functional, but thought it was terribly cute, right? ;), and it was all held in place by red thread.


Step 5 – the other sleeve – which I kept on the simpler side – took on this lovely red fabric I found lying around. And see that? The adorable buttons on the edge of one side of the neckline.


Step 6 – the other side of the neckline adorns loose strips of the red (which finished the neckline), as well as a black velour bow – which admittedly doesn’t show up so well in the pic.


S
tep 7 – Almost done. The very last thing I did, (which happened to be the very first idea I had when I got into mind I was making a top), was to place this red heart close to my own. 😉 Looking a little naked, I found this role of black transparent nylon cut on bias, which begged for me to use it. Fit like lingerie on my beautiful shiny heart. 😉


C’est tout. 😉 All done and it turned out more delicious than I first imagined. Go figure 😉

 


This Little Cookie- hey, that`s me. 🙂 Where`s your heART at?

Good. All done, now I can go play with something else. Aquafaba’s been on my mind for too many days. I’ll let you google that. 😉

Go play, and have fun with all that you do. That’s truly how we move mountains, change and create worlds- our inner world, that is. More on that tomorrow in the third installment of “Tuesday’s With Manj: Martyrdom.”

Much peace love and fun to you,

xxManj 

PS: It took everything in me not to edit these pictures. The perfectionist in me is fading away. I like that.

 

 

One thought on “DIY Fashion 

Leave a Reply

